President Kagame presides over swearing in of new MPs

Three new Members of Parliament were sworn in yesterday with President Paul Kagame advising them to bring new energy to the House and help drive the country’s development.

The new MPs joined the Lower Chamber of Parliament to fill positions which fell vacant after two MPs got new jobs and the passing away of MP Desiré Nyandwi.

The new MPs replaced Espérance Nyirasafari, who is now the Minister for Gender and Family Promotion, and Marie Rose Mureshyankwano, who is the governor of the Southern Province.

[ad id=”1539″]

The legislators, who were sworn in yesterday, are Elizabeth Mukamana, a lawyer and human rights activist, Barthelemy Karinijabo, a former Muhanga district councillor, and Diogène Bitunguramye, who was working as the director in charge of education in Rulindo District.

President Kagame advised the new MPs to join efforts with their new colleagues and spare no effort in driving the country’s development forward.

The new MPs during the swearing in ceremony yesterday

The new MPs during the swearing in ceremony yesterday


The Head of State explained that Rwanda’s high ranking in economy, security, and governance among other sectors is proof of the hard work of Rwandans, a spirit that he urged all leaders to subscribe to.

“Rwanda continues to be among the best performing countries. That means what is being done is of good quality and our responsibility is to keep doing well,” Kagame said.

[ad id=”1539″]

The President further urged senior leaders to keep improving services extended to the people, pointing out that that there is always room for improvement.

“Our role is to continue working hard because we can always aim higher and do better,” he said.

All the new MPs are expected to serve the remaining two years on the current mandate of legislators in the Lower Chamber of Parliament.

click here to receive the updated news on facebook on twitter


Facebook Comments
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Top News

To Top