This season’s rain less violent than last year’s – Meteo Rwanda

Rwanda Meteorology Agency (RMA) insists there will be less rain in April and May this season than it rained in the same season of 2016 where it caused the loss of human lives and materials.

The agency is mobilizing people countrywide that there will be no heavy rains in both April and May, by using color signals as a tool to help people, even illiterate ones, easily illustrate at which level it would rain.

The agency is at 95 per cent sure that no violent rain will fall during the next two months, reflecting to last year’s damaging rain to have been part of El Nino period shaped by heavy rains.

Anthony Twahirwa, who is in charge of weather department at the Agency, told the media that the current rain will be far from violent and denies people’s claims that the agency lies them during weather predictions, which he instead rates their information to be credible at 95 per cent.

He adds that Rwanda still has a number of particular challenges it faces in generating information on weather, like lack of enough technological equipment in measuring weather, due to insufficient financial capacity, but remains optimistic that last year’s rain will not fall at the same point this year.

During the evening of May 4th, 2016, violent rain cost human lives, leaving 35 people dead in process, including 17 from Gakenke Sector in Gakenke District, and also a number of infrastructures like schools and roads were slightly damaged. It also left people homeless as different houses were destroyed and damaged their farming fields.

Throughits website, RMA highlights the status of rainfalls during the months of March, April and May, with ordinary rainfall in Eastern region, especially in Ngoma, Gugesera, Kirehe, Rwamagana and Kayonza as well as part of Southern region (Kamonyi and Gisagara).

Regular heavy but not violent rainfall, during the rainy season, will fall in the City of Kigali (Kicukiro, Nyarugenge andGasabo), part of Southern region like Nyamagabe, Huye, Muhanga, Ruhango,Nyaruguru and Nyanza), Northern Region (Musanze,Rulindo, Gakenke, Gicumbi and Burera),Western region (Rubavu, Rutsiro, Nyabihu, Nyamasheke, Rusizi,Ngororero and Karongi), as well as part of Eastern region (Nyagatare and Gatsibo)

Fred Irakoze

Facebook Comments
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Top News

To Top