Kagame to chair AU foreign Affairs Ministers’ consultative meeting


President Paul Kagame will host African foreign ministers’ consultative meeting to discuss the implementation of African Union Reforms set to be held in Kigali on May 7th 2017:

The meeting will bring together the 54 foreign ministers from all African countries as well as all African ambassadors accredited to the African Union to discuss the way forward to the implementation of these reforms.

The meeting will be an opportunity to engage with Africa’s top diplomats and others present, on the foreseen impact of the reforms on the continent.

In July 2016, at the 27th African Union Summit, member States of the AU entrusted President Paul Kagame of Rwanda with the mandate to lead the African Union reforms to enable the Union to better meet its mission’s goal and truly serve African citizens. In January 2017, the proposed reforms were adopted by all Heads of State and Governments.

The consultative meeting expects to interact and decide on how some key reforms will be implemented. The key reforms include making sure Africa speaks with one voice and better manages its partnership with the rest of the world, financing the African Union activities to ensure sustainability and managing the business of the African Union more efficiently and effectively.

[xyz-ihs snippet=”google-pub”]

Before the upcoming meeting is held, Kagame on April 24th, first met different AU officials in Conakry, including Guinean president Alpha Conde, current AU chairperson Moussa Faki Mahamat and Chad President Idris Deby Itno to agree on the implementation roadmap of the set reforms stressing a strong commitment by Heads of State to follow the adoption of the reforms with concrete actions.

During the implementation process, President Kagame will be assisted by a big advisory team, namely Cristina Duarte, former minister for finance and planning of Cabo Verde; Dr Donald Kaberuka, former president of African Development Bank; Dr Acha Leke, senior partner at McKinsey & Co; Dr Carlos Lopes, former executive secretary of UN Economic Commission for Africa

Others include Strive Masiyiwa, executive chair of Econet Wireless; Tito Mboweni, former governor of South African Reserve Bank; Amina J. Mohammed, minister for environment of Nigeria; Mariam Mahamat Nour, minister for economy, planning, and international cooperation of Chad; and Vera Songwe, regional director for West and Central Africa at the International Finance Corporation.

click here to receive the updated news on facebook on twitter

@ Fred Irakoze


Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.