Kigali Genocide Memorial shortlisted for Africa Architecture Awards


Rwanda’s Kigali Genocide Memorial has been nominated among the 20 projects shortlisted for Africa Architecture Awards slated for September 29, 2017 in Cape Town, South Africa.

The Memorial, home of over 250 000 Tusti bodies killed during the 1994 Genocide against the Tusti, found itself part of the final contesting projects that were shortlisted out of an unprecedented 307 entered projects that were submitted from 32 countries across Africa.

Founded by Saint-Gobain, the inaugural Africa Architecture Awards attracted an unprecedented number of entries for an architecture awards programme in its first edition.

More than 500 projects registered to enter the awards before the closing date of 14 July 2017, and a total of 307 projects from 32 countries across Africa, completed the registration process and qualified to enter.

More than 100 000 people have participated in the public voting component of the Africa Architecture Awards People’s Choice award.

Only one vote per person per day is permitted and voting closes on 18 August 2017.

Although still in its infancy, this ambitious awards programme has already become one of the most successful architecture awards programmes on the continent, and it hasn’t yet announced its winners. It is also the only one of its kind due to its Pan-African scope; it being the first to invite entries from across Africa, for any project that pertains to Africa, regardless of where the architectural firm is located.

“The Africa Architecture Awards have been established to highlight the continent’s innovative and collaborative style of solving problems, architectural or otherwise. Saint-Gobain has engaged with some of the best minds in the field to establish this programme, so that the awards are relevant, contextual and progressive. We are more than thrilled to see the response that the competition has received to date,” says Evan Lockhart-Barker, the Managing Director of the Saint-Gobain Retail Business Development Initiative.

[xyz-ihs snippet=”google-pub”]

On 27 July 2017, the awards announced a shortlist of 20 projects, which now stand in line for a trophy in either the Built, Speculative, Emerging Voices or Critical Dialogue category; or, the overall Grand Prix award of USD$10 000. There were 139 entries in the Built category, 91 entries in the Speculative category, 44 entries in the Emerging Voices category and 34 entries in the Critical Dialogue category.

The shortlist was chosen by a Master Jury comprising a Pan-African panel of architects and industry experts from Nigeria, Ivory Coast, South Africa, Cape Verde and Uganda.

The trophy winners in each of the four entry categories, and the overall grand prize, will be announced at a gala awards ceremony to be held at the newly opened Zeitz Museum of Contemporary Art Africa (Zeitz MOCAA) in Cape Town while the architects of each of the 20 shortlisted projects will be flown to Cape Town by Saint-Gobain to attend the awards ceremony, which will be held on 28 September 2017.

click here to receive the updated news on facebook on twitte

@Fred Irakoze


Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.