Most populated countries in East African Community


The East African Community is an intergovernmental organization composed of six countries in the African Great Lakes region in eastern Africa: Burundi, Kenya, Rwanda, South Sudan, Tanzania, and Uganda.

However, these countries have different population in numbers.

  1. Burundi

Republic of Burundi is a landlocked country in East Africa . Its capital City is Bujumbura. According to World Bank statistics of 2016, its population is 10,520,000

  1. Rwanda

Rwanda is a landlocked East African country with a green, mountainous landscape. Its Capital City is Kigali. Population is 11,920,000

  1. South Sudan

South Sudan, officially known as the Republic of South Sudan, Is a landlocked country in East-Central Africa. The country gained its independence from Sudan in 2011, making it the newest country. Its capital and largest city is Juba. Recent statistics in 2016 show population is 12,230,000

  1. Uganda

Uganda is a landlocked country in East Africa whose diverse landscape encompasses the snow-capped Rwenzori Mountains and immense Lake Victoria. Its Capital City is Kampala. Recent statistics in 2016 show population is 41,490,000.

  1. Kenya

Kenya is a country in East Africa with coastline on the Indian Ocean. Its Capital City is Nairobi. Recent statistics in 2016 show population is 48,460,000

  1. Tanzania

Tanzania is an East African country known for its vast wilderness areas.Its Capital City Dodoma. Recent statistics in 2016 show population is 55,570,000

Subscribe to BWIZA TV to get news and song updates

click here to receive the updated news on facebook on twitter

Fred Masengesho Rugira/








Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.