New elected MPs to sworn in tomorrow


Members of Parliament elected recently for a five-year time  will be sworn in tomorrow, Wednesday, after which will officially assume their duties on October 5.

According to Rwanda’s constitution, Swearing in of the Members of the Low Chamber of Parliament is presided over by the President of the Republic, a responsibility taken over by the President of the Supreme Court in case of the President’s absence.

In their first meeting session, the MPs vote for the Speaker of Parliament and his/her two deputies; one in charge of legislation and the other in charge of Finance and Human Resources.

The Rwanda’s Low Chamber of Parliament comprises of members of who 53 are elected through political parties, 24 reserved for women, two youth representatives and one for people with disabilities.

The Rwanda Patriotic Front (RPF) with its coalition parties have won the majority with 40 seats, Social Democratic Party (PSD) won five seats while the Liberal Party (PL) secured four.

Two opposition political parties with representatives in the Rwandan Parliament for the first time are Democratic Green Party of Rwanda (DGPR) and PS Imberakuri securing two seats each.


Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.