Advert

kwamama4

Advert

World Cup 2018: Was referee wrong in VAR decision at NigeriaVs Argentina match?

0

Nigeria had clawed their way back into the World Cup Group D match thanks to a Victor Moses penalty after Lionel Messi had opened the scoring.

However, the African side thought they were deserving of a second penalty when Marcos Rojo headed the ball onto his own arm.

The referee did not blow his whistle and moment’s later Nigeria striker Odion Ighalo wasted a glorious opportunity to score from 14 yards out.

And once his shot flew wide he immediately appealed for a penalty.

Ref Cuneyt Cakir refused to give a spot kick immediately and went to VAR, who then called him over to the off-pitch TV screen.

Referee Cakir with both sides heading to VAR for a penalty against Argentina last night

And after some moments of deliberation Cakir gave a goal kick.

Nigeria were furious but Cakir evidently believed Rojo’s handball was not intentional.

But the decision has already caused controversy, with Iran earning a penalty off a handball by Portugal’s Cedric Soares last night

Nigeria pleased for the referee to consult VAR, only for him to reject the penalty claims anyway

Iran scored their spot-kick to earn an unlikely draw against Portugal, even though plenty thought Soares was unlucky to be penalised.

So, should Nigeria have been awarded a penalty?

Fred Masengesho Rugira/Bwiza.com

 

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.